This year the election is only to the Office of the Vice President, 2018. Nominations were invited and the last date was 30th September 2017. The members who filed the nominations were given an option to withdraw their nomination, if they so desire, by 31st October 2017 ( 5:00 PM).

The final list of candidates is:
1. Dr. Barun Kumar Nayak (Mumbai) –N02937
2. Dr. Swapan Kumar Samanta (Medinipur WB) – S01969
3. Dr. Sambasiva Rao V. (Vijayawada) S02393
4. Dr. Mahipal S. Sachdev ( New Delhi) – S02888

The Online Election will now be held from 0530 Hrs IST (0001 hrs GMT) on 9th February 2018 until 2359 Hrs. IST (1826 hrs GMT) on 15th February2018.Only those members whose membership no. is Upto 19899 are eligible to vote.

Please remember that the ballot for online voting will be sent ONLY TO THE PRIMARY email you have registered with the AIOS secretariat, & NOT to the one you use for the scientific committee. IJO, FBS or any other wing of the AIOS.

You can check your registered email id and registered mobile number with the AIOS office by logging into with your membership number and password (if in doubt send mail to then going to members’ directory and entering your membership number.

Those members who are sharing email ids (like father and son, husband and wife etc.) are required to register individual email ids with the AIOS office by the stipulated date, since only ONE vote will be sent to ONE email id.

Kindly ensure that this is correct with the secretariat as also your Registered Mobile Number, since the OTP will only go to that number (RMN) NOT LATER THAN 5 pm on 15th December 2017. No changes to the email id or mobile number will be accepted after that date because that list has to be frozen and sent to the election Vendor.

Our National members residing overseas and interested in participating in the electoral process are reminded to send a scanned copy of their valid Indian Passport to the secretariat before 15th December 2017 since arrangements are being made to make it possible for you to vote online.

The biodata of the candidates will be circulated to the members with the AIOS News. EVM VOTING will be held on 23rd February 2018 at Conference Venue (Coimbatore) from 9:00 A.M. to 3:00 P.M.

More details regarding this election will be updated on our website under election 2018 so kindly check there from time to time.


Dr. Quresh B. Maskati
Chief Election Officer, AIOS